Goodbye, Saint Louis!

I didn’t know this for certain until today, but this is my last day in Saint Louis. There have been a few hiccups in finding somewhere to stay in Miami, and yesterday, the day before my flight was due to leave, I still had nowhere to go once I land there. A friend of mine was calling friends of his and waiting for their responses, and while I waited I had a goodbye meal with friends, packed my suitcases, and eventually went to sleep without knowing whether or not I was really leaving. This morning I woke up with an email confirming that a place has been found, and now all I’m waiting for is a phone call to make arrangements to be met at the airport. One of my personal philosophies is this: ‘Don’t worry. Ever.’ (Deep, I know.) So to be left without knowing where I am staying until the last minute has been a test of this mind set. (I’d like to say that I have passed this test with flying colours).

Now I know that I’m definitely leaving, I feel kind of sad. I arrived in Saint Louis two months ago (it feels like only two weeks) without having any idea of what to expect, but during my time here I have met new people and made lasting friendships which I really value, I have come to love the city of Saint Louis, and (here comes the cliché – brace yourselves:) I feel I have grown as a person (sorry).

I am truly going to miss this place and the friends I have made, but I am definitely going to return some day, hopefully very soon. This is a short post because I need to finish packing my suitcase and get it into my head that I am actually leaving in a matter of hours. I also need to arrange being met at the airport. Anyway, I will update you on my travels when I arrive in Miami!

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Saint Louis!

  1. Saying goodbye is always difficult Sam, Au Revoir is better then you know you will make every effort to go back some day! So glad that you have got things sorted regarding your time in Miami and that your accommodation is o.k. Have a great time and be careful – loads of love xxx

  2. I have found that I have also grown living in Bracknell. I have learnt how to run, duck missiles and spot drug dealers from 50 paces… no I lie… 40 paces.

  3. Pingback: White Sands, Turquoise Waters, and Gunpoint Robberies: A Fun Few Days in Miami | My Best Souvenir

Leave a Reply

